T.S. Eliot Prize 2015

Tuesday 5 January 2016

The 2015 T.S. Eliot prize has lots of connections for StAnza this year. First of all, three of the poets appearing at our festival in March are on the shortlist, Tracey Herd, Don Paterson and Sean O'Brien. And beyond that, the judging panel consists of Kei Miller and Ahren Warner from StAnza 2015 with Pascale Petit from StAnza 2016 chairing it, so we can't help but be very interested this year.

For those of you who can get yourselves to London next weekend, there's a chance to hear readings from the poets shortlisted for the 2015 prize. The T.S. Eliot reading event is always a highlight of the literary calendar, and takes place as usual at Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall at 7pm on Sunday 10th January.

Expect an electric atmosphere at this opportunity to hear some of the best contemporary poets in the English-speaking world reading from their own work, on the eve of the winner’s announcement.

At the event all ten shortlisted poets are invited to read from their work. This year's full shortlist is:

Mark Doty – Deep Lane (Cape)
Tracey Herd – Not in This World (Bloodaxe)
Selima Hill – Jutland (Bloodaxe)
Sarah Howe – Loop of Jade (Chatto & Windus)
Tim Liardet – The World Before Snow (Carcanet)
Les Murray – Waiting for the Past (Carcanet)
Sean O’Brien – The Beautiful Librarians (Picador)
Don Paterson – 40 Sonnets (Faber)
Rebecca Perry – Beauty/Beauty (Bloodaxe)
Claudia Rankine – Citizen: An American Lyric (Penguin)

Previous winners of the prize include Paul Muldoon, Don Paterson, Ted Hughes, Michael Longley, Anne Carson, Alice Oswald, George Szirtes, Carol Ann Duffy, Seamus Heaney, Derek Walcott, John Burnside, Sharon Olds, Sinéad Morrissey and David Harsent, again most of them names familiar from previous StAnza festivals.

The Prize was inaugurated in 1993 to celebrate the Poetry Book Society's 40th birthday, and to honour its founding poet. It has been described by Sir Andrew Motion as "the Prize most poets want to win" and as the 'world's top poetry award' by Louise Jury of The Independent. Good luck to all those on this year's shortlist!

(c) The Poetry Book Society