Who will win the Scottish Book of the Year Awards? It's time to vote...

Saturday 4 August 2012

The Scottish Book of the Year Awards cause a stir in the literary world every year. Although a panel of judges award prizes for the best books  in four categories (Fiction, Non-fiction, Poetry and First Book), it’s up to the public to vote for the overall winner.  Last year the wonderful Jackie Kay won for her memoir Red Dust Road.  Who will carry off the award this year?

The 2012 finalists – who are, of course, winners already in their categories - are all outstanding:  Ali Smith, for her novel There but for the, Janice Galloway for her non fiction book All Made Up, Simon Stephenson for his first book  Let Not the Waves of the Sea.

The Poetry winner and finalist is Angus Peter Campbell for Aibisidh, a collection in Gaelic and English, described ‘a powerful and sharp-eyed examination of the fragmentation of language and identity in our modern global age’. Campbell is from South Uist. One of the foremost Gaelic poets, he has chronicled his community in times of change, ‘the fragmentary nature of lives, memories and connections to the Gaelic language.’ (Scottish Review of Books).His latest collection combines this sensitivity to a wide-ranging interest in politics and social change.  StAnza goers, of course, may recall his appearance at the festival in 2009. Will a poet be the overall winner?

There is still time to cast your vote here. The award is sponsored by the Scottish Mortgage Investment Trust and is run in partnerhsip with Creative Scotland.

The results will be announced at an award ceremony during the Edinburgh International Book Festival on 17 August.