StAnza: The People

Lucy Burnett in a grey v-neck jumper and jeans, standing against a black backgroundFestival Director: Lucy Burnett

Press & Media Manager: Louise Robertson

Programme Co-ordinator: Annie Rutherford

Lucy Burnett is a freelance writer and artist. She has previously worked as a Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing at various universities, as Centre Director of Arvon Lumb Bank, in arts marketing for Catstrand Theatre, and as an environmental campaigner. She has four published books, two poetry collections with Carcanet Press (2013 & 2019), a further collection with Guillemot Press (2021), and a hybrid travel novel with Knives Forks and Spoons (2017).

Annie Rutherford

Perry Jonsson

Annie Rutherford co-founded the literary magazine Far Off Places and the Poetree Festival in Göttingen, Germany. She also writes and translates. Hydra's Heads, her translation of the selected poems of Nora Gomringer, appeared with Burning Eye Books in 2018.

Louise Robertson is with the communications company, Message Matters. She studied tourism management and journalist at Napier University. She has worked in broadcast journalism and PR work since 2001, including work for other festivals and as Head of Public Affairs for an animal welfare charity.

Lord Campbell of Pittenweem CH CBE PC QC
Professor Douglas Dunn
Professor Kathleen Jamie
Billy Kay

Honorary Presidents:
Anna Crowe
Brian Johnstone




Drew Clegg (Secretary): Joined StAnza Board in 2003; Chair 2004-6, during which StAnza gained charitable status as a limited company. Retired as Managing Director of Errol Developments Ltd, a brick production company, in 2005.

Anna Crowe: In 1998, Brian Johnstone, Gavin Bowd and Anna Crowe sat down and decided that a poetry festival in St Andrews should be international and Scottish, promote a love of poetry in children and embrace other arts. Poet and translator, Anna was Artistic Director of StAnza for 7 years.

Dr Kate Hendry: joined the StAnza Board in 2018. Kate teaches English; previously in prisons, further and higher education, currently in a secondary school. She was reader-in-residence at the NLS and reading group facilitator at the Scottish Poetry Library. She has co-edited three SPL anthologies: for prisoners, doctors and teachers. Her own poetry is published by Happenstance Press.

Maureen Jack: Joined the StAnza Board in 2005. A retired educational psychologist, she brings to the StAnza Board experience in charity governance and as a senior manager in the public sector.

Dr Tom Jones: Joined StAnza Board in 2010. Lecturer in the School of English, St Andrews University; teaches eighteenth-century poetry, fiction and philosophy, as well as poetic theory and practice across a broader historical range.

Dr Robyn Marsack, FRSE (Chair): Joined StAnza Board 2017. Publishers’ editor, translator and critic, she was Director of the Scottish Poetry Library 2000-2016. Currently Member of the Board of Directors of Carcanet Press, Forward Arts Foundation, Edwin Morgan Trust.

Shona Munro: Joined StAnza Board 2007. Co-Director then Director of Edinburgh International Book Festival, 1987-95. Previously an educational psychologist. Trustee of Life Changes Trust.

Kathryn Ross: Joined StAnza Board in 2015. Partner in Fraser Ross Associates Literary Agency and co-administrator of the Pushkin Prizes in Scotland and the Young Walter Scott Prize creative writing awards for young people. She was deputy director of Scottish Book Trust from 1991 to 2002, and previously a teacher of English.

Amina Shah is Assistant Director (User Services & Engagement), St Andrews University Library, and was previously Director of Programme at Scottish Book Trust. A former CEO of the Scottish Library and Information Council, she led on the development of the first National Strategy for Public Libraries in Scotland. Amina is a Visiting Professor at Robert Gordon University's School of Cultural and Creative Business and a Trustee of the National Library of Scotland.

Bob Steel (Treasurer): Joined StAnza Board in 2014. Retired chartered accountant and former managing partner at Henderson Loggie CA.

Some of the StAnza team sharing a joke with Jay Parini
Photo: Al Buntin


Margaret Jarvis
Jean Johnstone
Andy Jackson
Robin MacKenzie
Peter Jarvis
Jim Carruth
Jenny Elliott
Julia Prescott
Colin Mackay
Brian Johnstone
Barbara Davey
Helen Nicholson
Annie Leverton
Michael Grieve

StAnza - Scotland's Poetry Festival - is a private company limited by guarantee and registered under the Companies Acts (Registered No. SC253342). Recognised by the Inland Revenue as a Scottish Charity (Charity No. SC 031789). StAnza is a fully independent festival funded by Creative Scotland, with contributions from Fife Council and the University of St Andrews.